Skip navigation

mk1 pd130 insurance adrian flux seemed a little expensive.

Back to the top
Coming to the end of my build now on the pd130 mk1 so i decided to ring my insurance to insure the mk1 for a week for vwfestival.
They toid me they dont insure classics (great)
I have only rang one other company which was adrian flux.
660.00 for the year. I thought this was very excessive as i explained it would only be for sun day driving to and from shows etc.
Locked on a farm where it would never be seen and pretty much unstealable. with immo and alarm as well.
Can someone please give me a few names to ring round. i am going to try the forum sponsers today so if there is any others it would be appreciated.
my details are as below if it helps
22 years old
5 years license
4 years single car ncb and 1 years motor trade ncb
mechanic by trade.

thanks in advance. 

Back to the top
HIC insure mine
£260 fully comp with Trinity Lane
Classic car policy
150 Excess
Limited 3000 miles
Garaged
250bhp + plus loads of other mods
I am twice your age though !!

Cheers,
Ade

Banner

Back to the top
I have just been getting quotes to renew my insurance - the best I have received are from Heritage and Performance Direct. With Heritage, having a mileage limit of 1000 rather than 2000 miles cut the quote by a third! But you might have issues getting classic insurance if you are under 25.

Some people criticise the comparison sites like go-compare and confused, but they can be useful for getting quick quotes from a ragne of companies, and if the same insurers come up cheapest on several different comparison sites, they are usually worth calling direct for a more specific quote.

good luck.

1986 GTI Cabriolet ("dambuster")

2000 Mk4 Cabriolet Avantgarde (bought for the mrs)

2001 Zafira 1.8

Back to the top
thanks for the comments guys i will try sort it out.
:)

Back to the top
It's your age! I've tried countless insurnce companies. I've got 6 years ncb and still my quotes are £900+ (I'm 24).