Skip navigation

Auto cab- worth it?

Back to the top

Auto cab- worth it?

HI all
I am truely lusting after getting a Mk1 cab but to use as a daily driver I'd need it to be an automatic. Is it worth it in terms of reliability or should I just stick with sharing the Gti and keeping my focus for daily? Considering I only have a budget of about ?2k.
Not sure how reliable the old auto boxes are so if anyone has experience of them I'd love to know.
TIA
Alexandria

Back to the top
if you want to know how good an auto cab is then y not ask auto cab himself

hello!

Back to the top
i have put over 7000 miles on 1.5 auto in the past year without any probs at all and it is used as my daily drive and has never let me down

Back to the top
Sorry I am confused, is that a member on here?

Back to the top

Some say he once had a knife fight with anthea turner and all his houseplants are called steve, all we know is, he's called the autocab :lol:

Banner

Back to the top
lol

I hope you can count?

Back to the top
If anything, the auto gearboxes are more reliable than the manuals. They tend to have been purchased by non-boy racers. Just do the basics such as check the condition and level of the fluid.

Back to the top
ew, you watch too much top gear  :lol:

1983 Polo CL - daily

1984 Golf G60 Syncro - sold

1989 Rallye Golf - sold

1992 Corrado G60 - crushed

1989 Polo C - chopped and crushed

1991 309 Style - crushed

Back to the top

paul_c said

If anything, the auto gearboxes are more reliable than the manuals. They tend to have been purchased by non-boy racers. Just do the basics such as check the condition and level of the fluid.

Unless it's you paul :lol:

Back to the top

Re: Auto cab- worth it?

Alexandria said

HI all