Skip navigation

help please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Back to the top

help please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just wondering if anyone can help, I bought a GTI cabriolet 3 weeks ago with 12 months MOT I am no mechanic but everything looked in order and the 12 months MOT made me feel secure in the knowledge that it was safe.

On Friday I handed the keys over to the families? local mechanic who has done loads of work on cars for me in the past. I prepared myself for him to say it needs a new gearbox, clutch etc but he didn?t (that would have been good). What he told me was that the car had been in a massive front end smash and that the smell of petrol was the petrol tank leaking onto the exhaust. He said that the chassis is bent and that in place the car is not attached as it should be, and that I should not drive it. I told him that I bought it because it had 12 months MOT and he was very surprised, I have now got it booked in for an MOT tomorrow at a large company and in the hope that they fail it and say it is unsafe so I have some come back else I?m set to lose money.

It has been suggested that I should be able to get help from trading standards as I was not informed about the damage.

Has this happened to anyone else can anyone advise me on what I should do, I have called the guy but he says he did not know even though he had it for 14 months.

Thanks

Back to the top
A lot will depend on if you bought from a private seller or a trader, if a private seller you may struggle? I see two issues if bought privately, number one check out the validity of the last MOT pass in relevance to the damage you say is present and secondly, see if there is any way to prove when the damage happened.

Keep us posted on how you get on

Did you HPI check the car or similar?

Cheers

Andy

LINCOLNSHIRE REGION - https://www.facebook.com/groups/467122313360002/

1983 MK1 Golf GTI Campaign Model - Under (looooong) resto!
1962 Rover P4 80
2002 BMW 745i
2008 BMW Z4 2.5Si

Back to the top