Skip navigation

Scuttle replacement

Back to the top
Morning :)

I am looking for advice as to repairing my scuttle panel, i have a fair few holes along the windscreen seal and wondering if it would be easier to just cut the rough parts out or replace the panel all together.
I have a welder but i am by no means a professional and i have zero bodywork experience, just the will power to want my mk1 back on the road asap!

Here are a few pictures..

Any help/advice will be much appreshiated.
Cheers :)

Drive like you mean it!

Back to the top
id replace the lot mate, get a repair one or one cut from a solid car, drill what spotwelds you have left on the seams, chop the A pillar, don't think the repairs go quite that high though if im honest.

Back to the top
Thanks Brad. Do you know of a thread which explains how to remove the panel? Ive had a search but can only seem to find dead end posts :(

Drive like you mean it!

Back to the top
I don't mate sorry, if you was to bare metal the full area and it should be apparent. 

The lip is 2 sections, inner and outer spot welded together. Hardest part will be cutting a pillar neatly. 

Back to the top
Yeah i see the spotwelds, other than the lip and cutting pillars where else does the panel join? Is it only joined by spot welds? 
When it comes to welding a pillars will i have to build it up as they are layered?

Still yet to remove wings and bonnet but once i get those off hopefully it will become clearer.

Sorry for all the questions!

Drive like you mean it!

Back to the top
On top of inner wing will be welded too a small bit each side lad. 

Melteddrummer did work on his A pillar, he can guide you on that point as I've never had one open. But if the second layer is bad and you need to do it all, your gunna have to brace that gap good. 

Back to the top
Got one wing off yeaterday, what a pain in the ass! So much seam sealer..

I see the tab your on about looks like its spot welded in too.