Skip navigation

How to start my full resto'??

Back to the top

Help and advice for my first restoration project please :-)

Hi all.
I have taken Goly (my Mk1) off the road for a full restoration over the next 2 years. I have a lot of mechanical background so this task does not seem daunting to me BUT! I just can't decide what to do first.
I was wondering if you guys/gals know what the best method is when doing a resto'?
Would you recommend buying as many parts and components as I can fit in my loft before even starting to strip the car to a bare shell or should I dive straight in with both feet, strip her and get her into the bodyshop??
Any advice greatly appreciated.
One more thing, did the Mk1 tintop series 2 bumpers come in different colours? Mine seem to be grey but all I can find as replacements seem to be black? Were mine black as standard and have faded over time or were they fitted with grey ones?
Cheers, Brit. :thumbs:

Goly The Golf, a 1983 5dr 1.3cl having a full resto.
Cherub, a 1985 Mk2 Polo Breadvan.
1995 Rover Mini Sprite (wife's daily)

Back to the top
IMO you need to strip it to find out what your dealing with.
i've seen it before where its far to easy to go and buy the nice shiny bits - a mouse click on ebay - only to find the shell needs far more work than anticipated and the project stalls due to lack of funds.

Better to have a solid base than a shiny turd.:lol:Don't under estimate how much time and money a full resto takes.

Once you've stripped it there's no going back!

what kind of resto are you doing? Back to standard / modified / concours?

Back to the top
Strip to bare shell if you want it to last a long time.
Replace any rotten panels if you can.
Took us about 6 hours, inside out…

Last edit: by lhasadreams

Back to the top