Skip navigation

Doing a Full respray myself.

Back to the top

Doing a Full respray myself.

Its taken some time but if i'm going to get my hands on a mk1, i want to do it right. And doing it right means giving the car a full respray in the colour i want. However, there is no chance in hell that i will be able to afford the several thousand pounds it will need for me to get someone to do it for me. So i thought i might come on here and seek some advice on the processes involved in respraying a car. Im a complete novice when it comes to this stuff so i thought i might get enlightened on here.
If i can get myself access to a nice lockup with some space and electricity i would really like to make a go of it as i said i wont be able to pay someone to do it. so here are my questions:

- what sort of equipment would i need and costs to rent?
- are there any good online tutorials or a link to a forum members project that details the process
- would it be better to each panel individually? as in doors, tail gate, bonnet etc take everything back to the shell and rebuild the car from scratch

Any general advice would be great.

Back to the top
If im honest mate i wouldnt do it yourself.

By the sounds of it you have no experiance in spraying a car.

Im sure the equipment would cost quite a bit then you got to buy all the paint ect.

You would have to take into account it will proberly look awefull untill you got the hang of it so thats extra money on more paint.

You aint got an oven which in my opinion you HAVE to have.

You will then either end up with a car which will look like its been sprayed by a novice (which aint good) or you will end up paying someone to rectify your work.

Personally i would just save your pennies and pay someone to do it for you.

Back to the top
your right i have no experience. I had contemplated offering my services at a coach builders to give me some of there time advice and maybe in the end access to some equipment and a baking oven.