Skip navigation

MK1 Steel Chromed Bumpers

Back to the top

MK1 Steel Chromed Bumpers

Hi All,

There is probably a million posts about these already in existance on this forum.

I am new to the world of MK1's, and am slowly learning about my car/modifications.  I would love to swap my standard bumpers for a set of steel chrome bumpers.  My only trouble is the price!  It is shocking to see what they are going for.

I will get to the point. I work for a big steel metal fabrication company, and have facilities around me to make reproduction parts.  I am trying to source a set of bumpers (on the cheap) so that I can copy the design.

If I am able to get a set to copy, would anybody be interested in buying them from me?  I know what these would cost to make and it is without doubt one of the most overly priced items I have seen.

Ideally I would like to re-produce and sell bumper sets uncoated.  By doing this I can keep the cost of manufacture down.  The benefit you have from this, is you will be free to chrome it, powder coat it, polish it … the choices of finish are endless.

Anyway, let me know what you think.  Perhaps somebody on here would be willing to lend me a pair.

OEM_DUB

Back to the top
hi oem dub welcome :) this sounds like a good idea, im one of those people who dont mind not having genuine vw parts coz of the prices spesh the chrome bumpers!!!! id love a set, ill keep ya in mind bud :D again great idea go for it, good luck,

carrie

\'Check Your Nuts!\'  My partner has just been through an operation and chemotherapy for Testicular Cancer and is only 29. He had no lump or pain, just became swollen… If in doubt, get to the doctor!

Back to the top
Yep i would be ineterested!!!

i will keep na eye out!

Diamond Silver s1 gti 1.8 16v on R1 Carbs
Aygo Blue 2010 1.0 vvt (Daily Hack)
Past \'82 1.5 glx cabby converted to 1.9 tsr RIP

Back to the top