Skip navigation

mk1 1.3gt conversion - Help

Back to the top

mk1 1.3gt conversion - Help

Hi,

Well….i recieved my first little project yesterday, a 1983 Mk1 1.1 C.  :)  She has a 1.3Gt motor fitted but the conversion wasnt completed. I dont know how long she has been standing for etc. Some wiring still do be done and a few other things. My plan is to give her a complete makeover and make something special. My intension is also to have R1 carbs fitted.  I want to get it mechanically sound first before I start on the cosmetics and all the other bits.
Now when it comes to cars im not a mechanical genius as I have always been in to motorbikes, so what I want to know is there anyone that could have a look and tell me exactly what is needed to complete the conversion etc, even better someone that can complete the conversion for me?

Any help would be appreciated or if someone can point me in the right direction or know of a garage or someone that might be able to help me with this.

Thanks!

Back to the top
I've just done this conversion, what do you need help with?

Back to the top
Not 100% sure what is still needed to complete the conversion? Basically just need some help on completing this conversion from someone like yourself as you obviousely know alot about this conversion seeing you just done it. Was it a easy conversion?

Back to the top
its the first engine conversion I've done so i cant really gauge how easy it,

are you going to run the multi point injection?
if so have you got the fuel pump?

how much of the wiring has been done?

might be easier to post pictures

there is quite a few threads on here that will help you with exhaust and a bit of wiring
i had to use wiring diagrams also

Back to the top
To be honest im very new to this so this will be a learning curve for me!
Ive got the fuel pump yes. Yes i will be checking out all available threads for help on this.