Skip navigation

Meet Eleanor - Back from paint and assembled!

Back to the top

Meet Eleanor - Back from paint and assembled!

Hi

I am new to this forum, in fact new to the whole VW scene all together. My background is Toyota MR2's having owned them for the last couple of years, and been grately involved in the club scene. I have owned both the normal aspirated and Turbo models.

Now to cut a long story short, although loving the world of MR2's, they are costing me a small fortune, both in maintenance and fuel so i have had to look elsewhere for my fun. I have always been a fan of the VW scene, and love the passion some owners have for the brand itself and love what people do to them. As i couldnt really see my self driving a 'normal' car, i thought i would see if i could lay my hands on a cheap VW to tinker with. I finally drew conclusion that i wanted a MK1 Golf as i love the retro look to them, so set about looking for a cheap 'doer upper' but one that is also driveable.

After to be honest, not that long i found a car that had been hit at the rear quarter, and pushed into a post. Going by what the advert said, it was all cosmetic. So today i set off with my brother in law and better half - the driver, to take a look. When i got there i saw the damage was as advised only cosmetic, but there were a few other issues with an oil leak and some rust in the spare wheel well. So after a bit of haggling, i drove away in a nice MK1 1.3 driver in blue.

The car isnt perfect, but other then the dents it is structually sound - i think. The worse bit is the interior as it is a bit mix and match but i can sort that once the outside is sorted.

Anyway, i am proud of my little eco runabout, and what will turn into hopefully an exciting project, so keep your eyes peeled.

I dont think there is too much else for me to say now, other then meet Eleanor…

This weekend the bodywork starts  :D

MK1 Golf - 1.3l Driver
MK1 Golf - 1.8 GTI (Build Thread - Here)

Back to the top