Skip navigation

Owned it for one week and headgasket has gone

Back to the top

Owned it for one week and headgasket has gone

Cant say im enjoying MK1 ownership my 1987 1.8 auto cabrio has been a nightmare this last week and to top it off the headgasket has now blown……..

my question is should I get it repaired t has done 150000 miles and what is a repair likely to cost? should i repair it myself im a complete novice or should i seek out another engine and swap it complety….. any thought advice greatlyu appreciated…..

Back to the top
personally i would do the headgasket if it was mine. what are the other probs you have been having.

Back to the top
personally i would do the headgasket if it was mine. what are the other probs you have been having.

Back to the top
Probably more likely the head was already blown and its symptoms masked, which then revealed themselves after a week…..

If it was a private sale chalk it down to experience and fix the head gasket, etc. If you're unsure of the work required, if you're a complete novice then get a garage or mechanic to do it; if you're happy with mechanical tasks and just never done a HG, give it a go they're not overly complicated.

Worth doing a skim + top end rebuild (valve train, etc) too, then you have a half rebuilt engine and a new lease of life in the car!!!

Back to the top
buy a haynes manual , have a read and give it a try …..will probly cost you about £60 if you do it yourself …….take your time , cange your timing belt at the same time and your belt tensioner…….when you have done it , great feeling that you have fixed it yourself, even greater feeling when you add up the money you have saved  by not taking it to a garage …..where are you based …..

Mk1 2l TSR G60.  .getting. There twice as fast

Mk1 lhd diesel…….getting. There for half the cost

Back to the top