Skip navigation

What engine should i go for!?

Back to the top

What engine should i go for!?

Hi guys

I have a 1989 golf clipper mk1 with a 1.6 engine in; originally was a 1.8 but the last guy had it changed, i presume he blew it or something.

It's a carb model with a 2e2. Also, I have larger wheels and original suspension, so weight of a new engine shouldn't be an issue.

I was wondering what the easiest engine conversion would be to gain some extra power? What are the other things I need to take into consideration? Would a more powerful engine mean I need to get a new gearbox (mine's a 020)? New suspension is on my list anyway, as are uprating the discs and pads at the front and renewing the drum brakes at the back.

I'm a beginner in all this so an engine replacement with the least possible problems would be best!!

Cheers for your time

Downs

Back to the top
your best bets doin one thats been dome before a kr on carbs would be pretty simple , no extra electrix ether

Back to the top
16v abf conversion anything less and your better off just buying a gti

Back to the top
abf? what does that stand for?

I'm presuming i'm going to need a new gearbox as well for this, as mine is an 020 and the ratios are such that i am doing 60mph at 3000rpm

Back to the top
currently looking at buying a 16v 2.0ltr 9a engine, would that be a fairly easy fit? What would be the issues with the gearbox?

Back to the top
abf`s a 2l 16v engine code out of a mk3 gti - one step up from the "kr" (1.8 16v) - abf`s also electronic injection rarther than mechanical (k-jet) that the kr comes with ;)

Back to the top
personaly the way fuels going i'd consider a tdi there fast thes days and even faster in a light mk1 and much more eco, just a thought

Back to the top
how hard would a tdi be? Has anyone done one before?

Also, with a 2.0 16v 9a, would it be possible to run it as a carb (with some nice new carbs) or would you be better getting the injection system for it?

Back to the top