Skip navigation

Busters Caddy - ground up restoration project (Pictur heavy)

Back to the top

Busters Caddy - ground up restoration project (Pictur heavy)

New to this site, so hello all. I am on another forum with this project but for those of you who haven't seen it i'll put regular updates on here too. I am new to volkswagens so as much as you may like to just look, please leave as many comments as you like weather constructive or not. After all i want to learn from things you have done in the past as much as hopefull you may learn a few things from me. All the best.

Enjoy

Buster

Bought the caddy for ?900. Here a a few pictures of when i first got it.

Previous own flipped the rear axle and put lowering springs on up front.

Body work is fairly good apart from being about 5 different shades of white.

Pressure washed some of the muck out of the bed. Rust looks worse than it is. Most is just surface, however there are a couple of patches that will want sorting out properly.

Tailgate is bowed like a banana.

5 bar plate will have to go.

Both doors will need some attention.

Panel joint line has been attempted to be smoothed. Looks naff! My list of things to do is getting ever longer.

Full leather seat are in good nick. :)

1.6 passat TD engine.

Love the front end! :D

More to come soon.

Back to the top
Next i set about cleaning the interior out. The carpet / rubber mat was non existent under both seats so i ripped out what was left. The sound deadening fabric stuff in both foot wells was both wet and soaked in oil!? so i also ripped that out. The sound deadening stuff that looks like its made of bitumen had also deteriorated and had gone really soft an manky, so i also had that up with the aid of a paint scraper. Found some dreaded rust as well :cry:

Both the drivers and passengers foot wells have rot in the corners!

Same goes for along the inner sills by the bottom seat belt bolt!:(