Skip navigation

Do I have one of the 1st Mk1's ever built 1974-75??

Back to the top

Hi All,

I am new to the Mk1 scene, I have been an avid Mk2 Golf GTI owner for years, but recently I have got hold of the below Mk1 Golf and was wondering if anyone knew if I had a little gem on my hands…

1974-75 Pre-UK Mk1 Golf 4speed 2-door in Mars Red/Orange.  
It was registered and owned in Belgium and only has 12'000 Kilometers on the clock YES only 12'000 NOT 120'000!
It has all the original parts only missing the original wheels (unfortunatley).  
The car is still on its original Belgium Plate and has paperwork.
It also has the Bug steering wheel so I am asuming it is one of the first ever Golfs built?!?
The car does need some light restoration like a few rust spots and a respray… but thats not surprising for a 35 year old car!!

What do you guys think do I have a gem on my hands?

Thanks for your help all!

Back to the top
If its 1974 and pre UK official imports, then it will be a swallowtail, which is the nickname for the model with an easily-identifiable different rear panel, and a host of other small trim and construction variations.

see www.swallowtail.info for info, to be sure yours is.

There's a timeline on the home page of this website which will clarify, and probably your chassis number will identify for sure, although the very early ones (I think) had 'next years' year number code, if you know what I mean.

Back to the top
Any pics ?  :wink:

Back to the top
You can accurately date the car from the VIN no. which on the early cars is stamped into the offside suspension turret.

If it's a genuine 74 with 12000km on the clock then yes, that is a gem. I have some original steelies from my 76 if you need some.

Either way, we need pics ;)

Rich

Back to the top
yeah piccies would be good

:cheer:  I've got my husband back :cheer:

Back to the top