Skip navigation

Swallowtail rookie joins!

Back to the top

Rookie found a swallowtail

Hello to everyone!

I'm a real rookie when it comes to cars.  However, as a sailboat owner and DIY fanatic I am used to fix things on my own. I have been looking for a project car to be converted to electric vehicle and for some reason I like German cars. Obviously I have been looking for Golfs. Last week it just happened a mk1 1975 swallowtail was found in a barn and I bought it! Now my job is to restore this nice piece of German automotive history and I promise I will be asking you a lot of stupid questions… :DStill in the barn:
latokuva.jpg

Does anyone have an idea whats the color of the car? Rallye yellow?

Out at the field. She will need some love before back at the street:
DSC_0392.JPG

The VIN is 1763075203. I guess this means the car is from between Oct.-Nov. 1975 based on Dan Reids Swallowtail.info website. Does anyone know is Dan still around? Tried to contact him with no success.

The engine is 1.1L. Anyone interested to purchase it?

Best regards,
Antti

Back to the top
Welcome to the Club Antti.  :)

Wow very, very nice barn find that.  :wub:   :thumbs:

Sent by a smartphone and not a smartperson!

Play Guess the Asking Price 'SEASON 4' as of Sunday the 29th of October 2017.
https://vwgolfmk1.org.uk/forum/index.php?page=topicview&id=chat%2Fmk1-golf-chat_2%2Fguess-the-asking-price_2

OLD.
https://vwgolfmk1.org.uk/forum/index.php?page=topicview&id=chat%2Fmk1-golf-chat_2%2Fold-guess-the-asking

Ever wondered who's behind the scenes of this forum?
https://vwgolfmk1.org.uk/index.php?page=committee

Mike

There's me building mine 28 years ago, almost finished!        

001.JPG       

Be proud of your VW Golf Mk1, it's very special!

Back to the top
The colour is Marino gelb l20a as its the same as my car that came from Sweden :) image.jpeg

Back to the top
Wow nice find!!

Keep it standard!!  :thumbs:

What's the interior looking like?

Andy