Skip navigation

Golf mk1 Gti Vin number plate & Options codes plate

Back to the top

Vin number & Options plate

Hello everyone, this is my first time here, but i'm a new lucky owner of a 1983 Golf Mk1 GTI, and currently starting a project to make this car all new again!

My question is the following: i can't find the Vin number plate nor the Options codes plate that usually come on this car. I do have the Vin number, but is there any way possible to get an original Vin plate to install it? And is there any way to know and get the original Options codes plate that is usually in the trunk of the car? 

Is there any way to know from the Vin number, to know the options and color that came on this car?

I really hope that anyone could help me out with this, and i think i am in the right place!

Many thanks 

Back to the top
Welcome!!! 

Are you UK or US based??? Reason I ask is that you may have a different service book than the UK if you're US based. In my service book there is a sticker with the option codes on it. 

The VIN number gives you different detail. It tells you where the car was built, plant, year etc. 

There should be a painted plate on the slam panel which will tell you the exact date of build. 

From that you can go to the brochures in the Gallery area and see how your car compares. 

Hope that helps a little?? 

Back to the top
There should be a vin code on the car somewhere if it's road legal, how do you know you have the right car for the registration?

1988 Mk1 Golf GTi Cabriolet 1.8cc DX, K-jet. Daily drive. 317,000 miles and counting
1978 Mk1 Scirocco GLS 1.6cc FR, Webber carb. Weekend toy.

Back to the top

Dano said

Welcome!!! 

Are you UK or US based??? Reason I ask is that you may have a different service book than the UK if you're US based. In my service book there is a sticker with the option codes on it. 

The VIN number gives you different detail. It tells you where the car was built, plant, year etc.