Skip navigation

Mk1 Golf GTi 1983. My new purchase!!

Back to the top

Mk1 Golf GTi 1983. My new purchase!!

Hi everyone, I'd like to introduce myself to the board as I'm gonna be a regular here from now on. I've just bought a 1983 Mk1 Golf Gti and I'd like to get feedback, ideas , impressions from everyone and anyone - experts and novices alike.

Ive owned a mk3 for years and have loved golfs since i was about 7 yrs old but have never had the opportunity to restore one but this bargain came along and I couldn't say no hehe.

I've attached some photos of the car taken last summer when my friend bought the car however due to personal reasons she has to sell and knew I'd gradually improve her with TLC. (Im a designer by day so I've got a fair eye when it comes to the aesthetics but im new to hands on mechanical work).

Here are the list of parts/features the owner before my friend made to the car, he was a qualified mechanic and only sold it to work on his campervan.

Mk1 Glf GTi 1.8 Y Reg 1983

BBS RA Flat Race (Rare Original Mk1 Option)    apparently?

Koni Top Adjustables with poly front bump stops, ralley rears. Bonrath front top mounts.  All poly bushed.

Brakes - 16V 22m master cylinder and servo. Goodridge 6 line stainless steel brake hoses. Rear disc conversion. new brake pipes.

Miltec stainless steel with polymounts

1.6 Gti Gearbox & rebushed linkage

Rear Lights Pro Clears (M3 style)

De-locked passenger door

Uprated engine mounts, new pipes, hoses etc. new fuel lines and hoses. Stainless steel fuel neck and new fuel pump

Body underside waxoilled

Chrome - grill, side trims, fuel caps, dash surround, door pins, mirror adjustors, bumper inserts and overiders.

History file from 1991 onwards.