Skip navigation

1983 Golf GX

Back to the top

1983 Golf GX

Hi everybody, just bought a 1983 Golf GX with an MOT and TAX for ?375. The interior was in excellent nick and the engine seemed sound too (i am not a mechanic!!). I still have a slightly doubting feel about the car though because i have admired them from afar and have desired one for a while but now i actually have one practicality issues begin to arise!
I was hoping this site could help me out on issues such as finding parts and discussing problems etc

Thanks for listening, Will

Back to the top
Hey, welcome to the forum.

Is it a 5 door or 3 door? What engine is it?

Hope you enjoy the forums, i'm looking for an MK1 myself.  8)

Back to the top
Welcome to the club Will! You came to the right place for advice.

Used to have a Atlas Grey GX myself over 10 years ago. Can't believe how good the bodywork was.

Post some pics when you get a chance!

Good luck
Rajan

Banner

Back to the top
All GX's were 5 door with 1457cc JB engine and Pierburg 1B3 carb.

Cheers
Rajan

Banner

Back to the top

Pictures

I will try an get some pictures on by the weekend if all goes well!
Looks like a heavy weekend of beautifying the car at the expense of my university work and social life……..but still, its a mark 1 Golf!! :D

Back to the top
Welcome Will, just ask when you have any questions - you will usually get a quick response!

Andy

LINCOLNSHIRE REGION - https://www.facebook.com/groups/467122313360002/

1983 MK1 Golf GTI Campaign Model - Under (looooong) resto!
1962 Rover P4 80
2002 BMW 745i
2008 BMW Z4 2.5Si

Back to the top
The car does idle a bit too high (about 1000 on the rev counter), apparently it is supposed to be at about 850-950, is this correct?

If this is incorrect, is it an easy problem to fix, i have the Haynes book which says it can be altered but i don't have the correct tools.
Should i just take it to my local VW garage for a full service and get them to sort it out?

Back to the top