Skip navigation

93 MK1 1800(non gti)Cabrio..stalling upon stop & stutter

Back to the top

93 MK1 1800(non gti)Cabrio..stalling upon stop & stutter

hi guys,newbie here……
this is my 93 cabrio…

had it for 3 years now.had absolutely no problems with it up until around 6 months ago when the fuel lines needed cleaning and i replaced the filler neck.recently been having a a few idleing/stalling problems.

anyway…….

engine is a 1800 non gti(pierburg e2)…..was stalling upon stopping at lights etc(starts first time afterwards tho) a couple of weeks ago so i changed the air filter,fuel filter,new rocker head gasket & carb cleaner and it ran like a dream until last night.  
took off from a set of lights and was quite high in the revs(3rd i think) before i had to stop at the next set of lights…..slowed down, came to a halt and the rev counter died.started first time again and continued to do this at every stop for the next 10 or so miles.
it then sat parked for around 1.5 hours…started it up and sat at 900rpm for a few seconds then just died again.nursed it home but would really like to get to the bottom of the problem.

any ideas?

thanks.!any info greatly appreciated!

Back to the top
sounds liek carb icing, is the warm air feed pipe and metal shroud intact, and does the warm air flap in the airbox open when engine running?

Hello my name is John and I'm a dub addict.

My wiring diagrams and other documents have moved here:

VAG Documents & Downloads

You'll need to sign into google/gmail for the link to work! (its free!)

Back to the top

rubjonny said

sounds liek carb icing, is the warm air feed pipe and metal shroud intact, and does the warm air flap in the airbox open when engine running?

ermmm………. :oops:
i'm completely engine illiterate…..where are these components located.?

thanks btw!

Back to the top
Carb flange torn or split  somewhere, leaking air
If carb icing the car would hold back, lose power and black smoke will appear from exhaust.