Skip navigation

My 82' Mk1 Project

Back to the top

My 82' Mk1 Project

Hey guys….i'm new to owning a Mk1 and new to the forum. I guess it was fate that led me here.  :D

Anyways, unlike the UK, we don't have many Mk1s here.  Maybe there are a few cabs here and there but i have never seen a GTI about.

After waiting more than 15 years, i finally found one! Well , it found me more like. A friend of mine heard I was looking for a mk1 and he called me. I went over thinking I was going to see a mk2 but lo and behold, this fine example of a mk1 greeted me.

This baby doesn't look too bad after 26 years, 211k on the speedo and 3 owners.

The interior needs some attention though. What can u expect right? We're only a few degrees below the equator.

The Engine - Hasn't been started for over a year. Planning on doing a rebuild.

After making some failed attempts to get the engine started (me n a mate thought it was a wiring problem at the time) we had no choice but to call in some help.

Off to see the wiring guy.
Here, finding the right people for the job is extremely difficult. I'd do it myself but my knowledge in VW wiring is limited, if not non-existent. Thanks to some other local dub enthusiasts, and there aren't many, i was pointed in the right direction. They won't get this msg but thanks guys!

'82 Mk1 GTI

'86 Mk2 GTI

'06 Mk5 GTI

~What can I say? I'm just a GTI lover….~

My '82 Mk1 GTI Project

http://www.vwgolfmk1.org.uk/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=60383

Back to the top
2 weeks went by, running back and forth to and from the wiring guys place and finally, we got the engine started.

Turns out the alternator was the problem. The original alternator was rated at 35A and wasn't providing enough power to the system. I couldn't have the lights and the aircon on at the same time. Ooookay.

Solution = grab an alternator from my mk2 project pile. 90A. Result.