Skip navigation

Problems with power

Back to the top
Hello !

I am having problems with mk1 cabriolet golf -91 1.8 engine 2h. It loses power sometimes so much that going uphill is really stressing thing.

I am also a beginner so i dont really know much about these things. Is there a fuel filter located in this model where ? I was thinking that it might have some blockage.

Spar plugs look  great and it sometimes runs okay also. And it doesnt matter is the engine cold or warm.

Thank you !

Back to the top
Not really up on later cars with the 2H engine, is that carb or fuel injection?

There should be a fuel filter somewhere as they are meant to be changed every 20,000 miles.

1988 Mk1 Golf GTi Cabriolet 1.8cc DX, K-jet. Daily drive. 317,000 miles and counting
1978 Mk1 Scirocco GLS 1.6cc FR, Webber carb. Weekend toy.

Back to the top
Found it yesterday. Its injection motor, i found it at the right side, front of the rear axle. Very strange place for fuel filter. Lets see what it does. :) Any other ideas for power loss ?

Back to the top
It could be MAF sensor issues on the air intake if this engine has them (again not that familiar with you engine).  I was convinced that I had fuel filter blockage on my 2.0 8v Mk1 replaced it and it made no difference.  Played around with the maf sensor cleaned the electric contacts and it running fine again

Back to the top
Power issues to me on a 2h Digi-fant can be but not limited to….

Plugged Muffler, Digi or Carbed, see it Vex me once on a carbed car I owned.
Vacuum Leaks
Timing is set wrong
Maf Sensor needs to be cleaned.
Restricted Air flow.
Weak Fuel pumps (is yours whining at the right wheel arch you can hear it over the Radio).
Bad Fuel Pressure Regulator (digifant).
Bad o2 sensor on digifant if equipped.
Bad CTS sensor on Digi.
Holed Air Intake Tube between the Maf and Throttlebody (digifant)

Is your Fuel tank partially full as in less than half, or is it topped off.