Skip navigation

Is a 1.6 GTI Engine the same size as a 1.8

Back to the top
Afternoon all,

I’ve got a chance to pick up a Mk1 GTI tin top, but it doesn’t come with the original 1.6 engine. It’s coming fitted with a 1.8 engine.

I want to rebuild the car to as near the original factory spec so would want to put a 1.6 engine back in it.

Is it a simple changeover of the engine and gearbox or is more to it (I’m not a mechanic!)?

If I left the car fitted with the 1.8 engine will it affect the value?

Cheers,

Matt

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Back to the top
What year is the car as later tin tops did come with the 1.8 engine fitted as standard.

1988 Mk1 Golf GTi Cabriolet 1.8cc DX, K-jet. Daily drive. 317,000 miles and counting
1978 Mk1 Scirocco GLS 1.6cc FR, Webber carb. Weekend toy.

Back to the top

It’s an ‘82. The engine number from the online search starts with EG, hence the ‘82. The engine with it now is a DX.

Back to the top
Is there a build label in the boot of the car as that should say what engine was in there.
Also what's on the log book?

1988 Mk1 Golf GTi Cabriolet 1.8cc DX, K-jet. Daily drive. 317,000 miles and counting

Back to the top

Just asked.

Would you take the car as us to rebuild and can a 1.6 be easily fitted.

Back to the top
I do think the 1982 tin tops came with the 1.8 DX engine.

Just found this info and it seems up to 1981 cars had the EG engine and the last cars had the DX engine.

Engine Conversions - The Mk1 Golf Owners Club

Back to the top
The 1.8 is a better engine to live with as the max torque is lower down the rev range so you don't have to be reving hard to get the most out of it.

Back to the top

mark1gls said

I do think the 1982 tin tops came with the 1.8 DX engine.

Just found this info and it seems up to 1981 cars had the EG engine and the last cars had the DX engine.

Engine Conversions - The Mk1 Golf Owners Club