Skip navigation

No Claims discount vs no accidents

Back to the top
Hi Guys

I'm just considering my options before I get my car insurance, my problem is I currently don't have a car well technically that is' our family car is registered with my wife I have been a named driver for the past 16 years, I currently have a company car and have had this for 2 years previously to that I had my own car for around six months and before that a company car for several years.

Ive never claimed or ever had an accident' do I have to prove no claims and if so how will I do that?

any advice will be appreciated as always 

Back to the top
You usually have to show your no claims to your new insurance company with a letter from your previous insurance company.

Not sure how it works with a company car unless the insurance was in your name? I've not had a company car…

You are probably best picking up the phone and speaking to which ever company you choose to use as if they can insurance companies will get out of paying up in a claim they will….

I know with owning 2 cars in my name you can only have 1 no claims bonus for 1 car. It's cheaper for me to insure my daily drive Mk1 Golf Gti cabriolet with full no claims than insure my Mk1 Scirocco GLS with a 1.6 carb engine….

1988 Mk1 Golf GTi Cabriolet 1.8cc DX, K-jet. Daily drive. 317,000 miles and counting
1978 Mk1 Scirocco GLS 1.6cc FR, Webber carb. Weekend toy.

Back to the top
NCB (no claims bonus); and not having any claims, are 2 different things. Its possible to have NCB but not no claims (because, each claim typically reduces the amount of NCB by 2 years, not completely; or you could have had protected NCB). And its possible to have no claims, but no NCB (ie your situation).

NCB, put simply, is a scheme where you/the insurance company track the number of years you've had insurance without making a claim (which effects it).