Skip navigation

3D Printed End Use Parts - Research

Back to the top

In need of some feedback

Hi all,
It has been a while since i ventured onto the forum having sold my mk1 a few years back for a practical 4 door Audi to transport my young family around. i do miss owning one but i am on here for some advice/feedback or general comments on a something that i believe could potentially benefit the mk1 community. By day i'm a design engineer and the rest of the time i 3D print items.

At the moment i am gathering research into suitable parts to produce either because they are difficult to find, expensive to buy or perhaps need replacement often, there is also the possibility of personalised or customised items.

I have a Ultimaker 3 at home and access to a larger format printer at work for larger parts. Its possible to print in a range of plastic materials.

I currently have a customer who orders end use parts for his Raleigh Chopper rebuild business and i'm in the process of testing some custom nut covers (they have been on the car 18 months)

Do any of you have suggestions as to which parts i should start with or thoughts on providing this service?

Thanks in advance

Back to the top
Series 2 dash trim items would be good.

The surrounds for the switches particularly as the lugs snap.

Current rides:

2003 BMW 330d Manual Saloon Msport
1985 GTI cabriolet black edition (42k miles)
1999 Triumph Daytona 955i Post apocalyptic, rat, brat, scrambler, steam punk, cafe racer

IMG_20190803_123357.jpg

Back to the top

Now if the designs can be directly sent to a metal printer then metal version of plastic components is also a nice idea.

A robust and long life scuttle panel cover would be nice also. Maybe one which is full width.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Back to the top

Pirelli p caps I need three done

Back to the top