Skip navigation

**wanted** HELP! 1.8T build thread for mk1.

Back to the top

NEWbie with the 1.8t

Hi guys. Yep, another newbie here doing the 1.8T conversion to a mk1 golf.

Ive been reading through all the topics for the past couple of days but i was wondering if people could help/point me in the right direction of a good detailed build thread for the basics of getting the engine in and mounted and a potenial shopping list of things ill need.

Yesterday i removed a complete AGU engine with the O2J gearbox. firstly i would like to know what is used to delete the a/c unit and PAS pump. im aware that ill need to run a smaller belt and all that…. but thats as far as ive got so far. haha.

Also whos the best guy to talk to getting me wiring loom converted and with this is there somewhere i can still send my AGU ECU away to get the immo delete e.t.c? or is it still best to get a aftermarket ecu for the right engine code?

Im sure you guys have answered these questions thousands of times but im hoping to get all the answers under one roof for myself to use.

look forward to this build and your guys help.

Thanks Ollie

Back to the top
Vagtronics will do the ecu for you. 

Yeah you cut the bottom of the power steering mount off and run a 6pk925 belt. 

Back to the top

Roach said

Vagtronics will do the ecu for you. 

Yeah you cut the bottom of the power steering mount off and run a 6pk925 belt. 

Cheers Roach ive been it contact with Vagtronics, helpful guys.

is that the full part number for the smaller belt?

Back to the top
Yeah just bang 6PK925 into ebay and they'll come up.. I use Gates belts. 

6 is the number of ribs, and 925 is the length. 

Back to the top
ditch the agu engine management its proper old and not many people like to map it

you should be looking at me7.5 ecu and loom

DANBOY.

Mk1 Golf cabrio "Golf+ absolutely cabulous"