Skip navigation

Gti fuel filter

Back to the top
Hi

The filter on my 1,600 gti looks pretty old and I thought it's time I changed it.

Question is what's involved as I've never done it before.

Ecp stock a Bosch one so I thought I would order that but before I do….what else do I need as I think I read somewhere about needing washers etc?

Pic of current filter for attention

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

1991 Black Sportline 1.8 GTI Cabby - gone

1983 Papyrus Green 1.5 Auto GL Cabby - gone

1984 Nevada Beige MK2 Golf 1.6CL LHD Auto - gone

1981 Schwartz Black MK1 Golf 1600 GTI - gone

Currently Mk1less!

Back to the top
Yes you should use new crush washers, but years ago they used to be included in the Filter…. Don't know about now-a-days.

You can re-condition them, that is you sand them shiney
and smooth 400-600 grit wet/dry with water.  Holding then on the edge with a pair of pliers you place them in a flame until they change color, as this will re-annul them, and make them
re-useable… if the are really gouged, then you may want to source new….but I have taken gouged ones and shined them up to re-annul and they worked fine.

What do Divorces, Great Coffee, and Car Electrics all have in common?

They all start with GOOD Grounds.

Where are my DIY Links?

Back to the top

Gti fuel filter

Thanks

Are they the same size etc as sump plug washers?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Currently Mk1less!

Back to the top
I thought that they are different sized, as there are 4 of them on the filter.

from the fuel in 049133696B 14,7X22 2 needed
from the filter to the cis box N 0138128 12X15,5X1,5  2 needed

VW Heritage shows including the washers with the filter.
https://www.vwheritage.com/893133511-filter-fuel-k-jetronic-1-8cc-mk1-cab-mk2-12-83-7-93

So, just check the filter before you order washers that you may or may not need :)

Last edit: by Briano1234

What do Divorces, Great Coffee, and Car Electrics all have in common?

They all start with GOOD Grounds.