Skip navigation

1988 GTI cabrio project - 10 years off the road

Back to the top
Welcome to my build/rebuild/repair thread.

I've introduced myself on the newbies section the other week.

My name is Mike, originally from Manchester but now a Lancashire country bumpkin.

I bought this car on a whim from ebay a few weeks ago - early March 2021 mainly to relive my youth a little along with the family.

It was originally a 1.8 GTI but has been converted to motorbike carbs/ITB's with all the relevant fuel pumps/restrictors fitted and has apparently had a rebore to 1900cc which is something that attracted me to it along with the Porsche D90 wheels and Cayman seats amongst other mods.

The previous owner has had it in his garage for 10 years, he's clearly spent a lot of money on it in the past few years going over it and it just needs finishing off ready for me to enjoy.

I'm an Architect by profession but pretty handy with a spanner and have fixed most Mk1 problems in my late teens and its all slowly coming back to me.

The car is probably 95% ready to go back on the road, it has had a respray at some point and as usual a few bits are missing which I am slowly sourcing.

I'm really enjoying getting stuck back into a bit of car repair, I don't dare go near my 'normal car', too many computers and things to break.

Jobs done and left to do are as follows:

DONE

refit external trims - (missing a passenger side front strip if anyone has one)
refit window seals
refit door seals
refit/source rear seat side panels
strip out the retrofitted power hood loom
realign the steering rack - wheels were toeing out dramatically
fit a later leather Mk2 GTI wheel and horn with a modified rack shim
fit a weber manual choke cable to the bike carbs
fix the clutch cable routing
fix the bonnet pull mech
fix the accelerator cable (pedal end falling off the pedal - new bung ordered and fitted)