Skip navigation

Newbie in the market to buy - advice needed please

Back to the top

Mark 1 GTI convertible wanted - where to start

hi everyone
thanks for clicking on my message
my first car was a mark 1 L A reg and I loved it - 20years on and I have a few quid and want to treat myself after a change of personal circumstances
As I write this message, part of me is rather intimidated by the process of buying a mark 1gti convertible, as unlike many of you I have little knowledge of what to look for nor indeed the skill to maintain such a vehicle -gotta start somewhere I guess

here is my brief:
USAGE: daily runner for short local drives, occasional longer runs at the weekend. I have two children so lap seats may need conversions to cater for booster seats
(we have a modern family car already)
Car must be reliable, and dry (my old car leaked terribly but I never had the money to solve this)
i do t have a garage sadly but would buy and use a car cover to keep protected.
BUDGET: circa £7k willing to spend a bit more if needed
CONVERTIBLE? It seems the value lies in the hard tops (do correct me if I’m wrong) but I think I would prefer a convertible
Keen in the later 88-92 models

can you guys help me? what should I look out for ? Perhaps there are a top 5 or 10 tips you can share with me so as I start to visit sellers I a mark a little more informed.
really appreciate any help

Adam

Last edit: by Crowey26

Back to the top
Welcome along mate.

There's a buying guide on the site somewhere that'll help you out but the main thing to check for is rust.

Good thing is there's lots of spares out there now so if anything breaks it's pretty much fixable.

Later cabbies are better built and have less rust issues. Plus they are probably a bit safer.

You should be able to find a decent tin top for 7k and you'll have a choice of tip top condition cabbies at that too.

Ian

Cornish Host.
1980 VW Derby
Clive the Cabby
Ujum the Invisible
Mynx the  Tintop

Back to the top