Skip navigation

'81 golf GTI start problems after restore.

Back to the top

Ignition or Fuel System?

Hi everybody,
I’m Sandro from Italy and I’m restoring my ’81 Golf GTI, but I’m not a mechanics..
I’ve problems to run well the car: sometimes starts immediatly (cold engine), sometimes starts but stops after 20-30 seconds. and it does not start anymore.
I have disconnetted one spark plug and when engine try to starts I don’t see fire on spark, only sometimes there is a fire and the engine try to start but then failed.
This is my question: it’s a problem on ignition (coil or something else) or a fuel system problem?
I ask this because when I try to start the engine (and doesn't starts) there isn’t fuel smell from the exhaust, so my hypothesis is that are two problems in the same time: no current on spark and no fuel in injectors (maybe the fuel return directly to the tank?)
Are the 2 problems correlated? So, when there is not fuel in the injector it’s corrent to have not fuel on the sparks?

I've renew:
-fuel tank
-fuel pump
-fuel filter
-spark plugs
-rotor and cap
-engine belts

Sometimes the engine run but if I go for a trip after 2-3 km there is a failure, the engine fail but then restart in autonomy after 2-3 seconds (the car is is movement).
On the sparks there is a black depot (mixture too rich?), before the car restore the sparks were perfect, brown!
thanks in advance for your suggestions and sorry if this is could be stupids questions..
Have a nice day
Sandro

Back to the top
Its not possible to say from your description. You need some way of properly checking for spark, and/or fuel

Back to the top
I agree with what paul_c says about your description. The coil sends a pulse to the fuel pump relay which then powers the fuel pump. It is possible the two are the symptom of one problem. At a guess from your description, I would start with the ignition system first.

Back to the top
Thanks paul_c and Saulty. I'll try with the coil and the icm.  
I'll update you