Skip navigation

Can someone tell me what engine i have in my mk1 (pics provided)

Back to the top

What engine is this in my mk1?

Dear MK1 experts,

I have recently inherited a mk1 golf gti lhd convertable.
Can somebody please tell me what engine is this, is it a standard golf gti 1.8 mk1 engine? The car originally came from Spain, with plenty of miles on it.

I purchased a Haynes manual for the mk1 and the engines it covers is nothing like mine.
The issue is the car has not started in years, and even though she starts up she idles with a slight splutter, and every 20 seconds or so  the idle drops then picks up again.
i am not driving the car, i just want to get it idling smoothly, and my background is restoring old rs turbos.

I have provided pictures, any advice would be greatly appreciated. 20180718_154212.jpg 20180718_154203.jpg 20180718_154149.jpg

Back to the top
It's a 1.8 Gti engine but you have digifant fuel injection system which was fitted some of the last UK cars as most Gti have k-jet in the uk.
USA and Europe seem to have digifant fuel injection system on most later cars.

You car even has power steering which no UK car had.

If you want info on the fuel injection system you will need the Mk2 Golf Haynes manual as the Mk2 Golf Gti had digifant fuel injection as standard from 1987 ish I think…..

Briano1234 has lots of guides on digifant, there is a link in his signature.

The basic engine block and running gear is all the same as k-jet cars it just the head, fueling and some electrical parts differ.

If you look at this link you can see the Mk2 Golf Gti engine bay, the intake is on the other side but the injection system is very similar to yours.

http://www.newoldcar.co.uk/index.php/99-featured-cars/volkswagen/1705-featured-cars-volkswagen-golf-1990-volkswagen-golf-gti-mk2-ref-248

Bentley do a work shop manual that will cover US cars and digifant, power steering and air con.