Skip navigation

1983 Lhasa Gti, Welding in new axle mounts, lots of pics.!!

Back to the top

New axle mounts welded in with pictures..

Hi all I picked up a 1983 Lhasa green gti for £800. She is not bad inside and out, but needed a little work to axle mounts underneath, I have always been into cars and mechanics (all self taught) And decided to go ahead and do this project myself knowing I would be more chuffed to be able to say I did that.. So i ordered some repair panels and sills from VWHeritage and got her up on the ramps and started to cut away the rust to see what I had to work with and then treated the rest of the area with Kurust and then Acid Etch primer then a nice coat of Red Oxide, I then trimmed new repair panel to fit welded it in and treated with Acid Etch a Top coat and Underseal with Waxoil. Here are some pics, from start to finish, now got to start the other side.  All comments are welcome, Thanks. C:\fakepath\image.jpg C:\fakepath\image.jpg C:\fakepath\image.jpg C:\fakepath\image.jpg C:\fakepath\image.jpg C:\fakepath\image.jpg C:\fakepath\image.jpg C:\fakepath\image.jpg

Back to the top
Nice tidy job mate!! Brings back memories for me seeing this.

Here's what mine were like on both sides lol

Back to the top
Done a bit more over last couple of days including inner arch repair and sill repair.. C:\fakepath\image.jpg C:\fakepath\image.jpg C:\fakepath\image.jpg C:\fakepath\image.jpg C:\fakepath\image.jpg

Back to the top
Tidy work Dave ;) Even with that rot, £800 is an absolute bargain I reckon for that!

What's the car like mechanically and interior wise?

Andy

LINCOLNSHIRE REGION - https://www.facebook.com/groups/467122313360002/

1983 MK1 Golf GTI Campaign Model - Under (looooong) resto!
1962 Rover P4 80
2002 BMW 745i
2008 BMW Z4 2.5Si

Back to the top
Aside that welding, looks like a great car for the money!

Back to the top
Nice repair on the new axle mounts, such a common problem.

Mine looked similar to Melteddrummers' too. :(